Splak.net

Home of .:Splak|
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:28 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:52 pm 
Offline
The British One
The British One
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 4816
Location: England
Hello All,

My dad's computer has started to freeze after the login screen (As in, the start up bar freezes, then if you press the right button on the mouse, it'll freeze that much more. It does load, but it will take slightly longer)

I investigated slightly, went into Safe Mode - boots perfectly, no problem, no slowness or anything similar. Ran AVG, Spybot & Malwarebytes, but came up clean.

I aired out the computers inside (completely dusty) - the vent on the side of the computer was blocked. I thought it could have overheated, I thought the RAM might be one of the first few things to go (or that the computer didn't have enough ram) I used old RAM (2gb total) to replace the computers one, it acts slightly faster, but again when it gets to the main screen after login, it freezes the start up bar - see example picture, I've used a standard xp picture, but made what is happening)
Attachment:
samplexpfreeze.jpg
samplexpfreeze.jpg [ 98.48 KiB | Viewed 1974 times ]


The hard drive has a lot of space (33gb used of 250-/+)
Computer is roughly 5-6 years old, done a wipe and reinstall a few times.

My ideas of what it could be;

hard drive has a corrupt section,
Needs an increase of RAM
Drivers need possible update
other??


Any ideas before I set off scratching my head would be appreciated.

TIA.

_________________
.:Splak|Stormzz
.:Splak|Fusionzz
[Splak Server Administrator]
[Recruitment Moderator and Co-Recruiter]
Image
Image
Got any questions? PM me and i'll try and help.

“You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.” - Winston Churchill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:05 pm 
Offline
Chuck Norris' Beard
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:42 pm
Posts: 3938
Location: VA
Sounds like a driver problem. Start msconfig.exe on safe mode, go to the start up tab and disable all the components there. That, or I don't remember if xp had this tab but in the same program there should be a diagnostic start up.

_________________
.:Splak|Cornholio / Administrator

Image

"He just kept talking in one long incredibly unbroken sentence moving from topic to topic so that no one had a chance to interrupt, it was really quite hypnotic..."

After I'm gone your Earth will be free to live out its miserable span of existence as one of my satellites, and that's how it's going to be...

_██_
(ಠ_ృ)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:54 pm 
Offline
The British One
The British One
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 4816
Location: England
Tried msconfig.exe and disabling all in start up, though no luck on restart. Found the diagnostic start up in the General Tab, ran that, it loaded up perfectly (no start ups and minimal services) - booted back into safe mode, checked that it was going to reload back into normal start up. Loaded up perfectly fine, minimal slowness (just the average you would expect from a poorly spec'd computer). Not quite sure what it has done to fix it.

no graphic drivers need installing. Shall keep an eye on it.

_________________
.:Splak|Stormzz
.:Splak|Fusionzz
[Splak Server Administrator]
[Recruitment Moderator and Co-Recruiter]
Image
Image
Got any questions? PM me and i'll try and help.

“You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.” - Winston Churchill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:33 pm 
Offline
Mega Chuck Norris
Mega Chuck Norris
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:39 pm
Posts: 3647
Location: Madison, MS
May want to do a full disk check to be safe.

Start, run, cmd
chkdsk /f
Y

Then do a reboot, it will run a long check, then once it's in windows, reboot again.

_________________
-- .:Splak|StackableNut --
Cornholio wrote:
blah thats nothing, i built houses for pirates, then do pirating myself. Then I shoot my self and perform bullet removal surgery on myself. After that I go to boot camps to train kids to kill. Then i go and fight on the Iraq war for both sides. After all i go later and drink some 7up cause ill be thirsty as shit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:34 am 
Offline
Listen up DOUCHE-FAG
Listen up DOUCHE-FAG
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 2505
Location: Brandon, MS
ColeLT1 wrote:
May want to do a full disk check to be safe.

Start, run, cmd
chkdsk /f
Y

Then do a reboot, it will run a long check, then once it's in windows, reboot again.


This. It also looks like explorer isn't getting a good start. If you can, end it in task manager, after your screen flashes and it ends start a new task of explorer.exe See how it's running. It looks like your OS is corrupted, and that could be caused by bad disk/virus/other....


Good Luck!

_________________
ImageImage

bob wrote:
Sorry,

my brother called you a retard.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group