Splak.net

Home of .:Splak|
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:30 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:53 am 
Offline
The British One
The British One
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 4816
Location: England
Hi guys,

I've been trying to play COD GHOSTS which is running on my Secondary HD as steam and the games won't run on the SSD that I have as primary.

I know the hard drive is good, as I used to run it before I bought my SSD. It feels like it's not constantly reading my HD, like it sleeps. It's not my G-card as I have a GeForce GTX 670 which is running both of my screens.

Ideas?

_________________
.:Splak|Stormzz
.:Splak|Fusionzz
[Splak Server Administrator]
[Recruitment Moderator and Co-Recruiter]
Image
Image
Got any questions? PM me and i'll try and help.

“You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.” - Winston Churchill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 11:00 am 
Offline
Mega Chuck Norris
Mega Chuck Norris
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:39 pm
Posts: 3647
Location: Madison, MS
Describe what it is doing, like you are playing and it is always choppy, or random 5 seconds pauses after 30 minutes of playing?

_________________
-- .:Splak|StackableNut --
Cornholio wrote:
blah thats nothing, i built houses for pirates, then do pirating myself. Then I shoot my self and perform bullet removal surgery on myself. After that I go to boot camps to train kids to kill. Then i go and fight on the Iraq war for both sides. After all i go later and drink some 7up cause ill be thirsty as shit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:36 pm 
Offline
The British One
The British One
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 4816
Location: England
It tends to be extremely laggy video when loading up a single player mission, so you'll see it stop loading it at times, the sounds would be stuttery.

Once it's loaded, it can be ok to play until you hit a battle scene of 10+ enemies, in which it will just struggle to load it all up, or you hit a video scene in where they'll talk and move around.

I notice it in other games, some will just generally struggle because it can't load it quick enough.

_________________
.:Splak|Stormzz
.:Splak|Fusionzz
[Splak Server Administrator]
[Recruitment Moderator and Co-Recruiter]
Image
Image
Got any questions? PM me and i'll try and help.

“You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.” - Winston Churchill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 10:43 am 
Offline
Mega Chuck Norris
Mega Chuck Norris
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:39 pm
Posts: 3647
Location: Madison, MS
Just curious, why can you not load the games on the ssd?

_________________
-- .:Splak|StackableNut --
Cornholio wrote:
blah thats nothing, i built houses for pirates, then do pirating myself. Then I shoot my self and perform bullet removal surgery on myself. After that I go to boot camps to train kids to kill. Then i go and fight on the Iraq war for both sides. After all i go later and drink some 7up cause ill be thirsty as shit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 2:23 pm 
Offline
The British One
The British One
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 3:58 am
Posts: 4816
Location: England
Mainly because it's a 110gb ssd. I have 24.8GB left.

7GB which is used for programs.
3GB = My documents
9GB = APPDATA.
37GB = Windows.

Another 20 gigs somewhere. Not sure where though, wahey.

_________________
.:Splak|Stormzz
.:Splak|Fusionzz
[Splak Server Administrator]
[Recruitment Moderator and Co-Recruiter]
Image
Image
Got any questions? PM me and i'll try and help.

“You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.” - Winston Churchill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:06 pm 
Offline
of the Four Horsemen.
of the Four Horsemen.
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:14 pm
Posts: 2834
Location: South of Heaven
I'm not sure about your initial problem, but I can help you with locating the 20g of data that's somewhere unsure.

There's a nifty, light, program I've been using for years that pretty much maps out my entire hard drive with data showing which folders are allocating lots of data and a map to show you visually how much each is taking. It's called windirstat and it's a must have for PC users (though I'm sure there are other apps like it)

http://windirstat.info/ (free)


Attachments:
File comment: If you hover over any of the colored boxes with your cusor on the map, it will let you know what file is taking that much space. For example, the smaller purple rectangles could be .wmv's - while the larger red ones could be game files
Windirstat.png
Windirstat.png [ 726.91 KiB | Viewed 2389 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group